The Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat  is the administrative arm of the Pacific Islands Forum, which comprises 18 member countries.  The Secretariat was established by treaty under the Agreement Establishing the Pacific Islands Secretariat at Tarawa, Kiribati on 30 October, 2000.

The Secretariat’s goal is to support Members to achieve their aspirations through strengthening regional cooperation and integration by promoting good governance and security; facilitating opportunities for sustainable economic growth; and fostering effective coordination and partnerships.

The Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat is based in Suva, Fiji. The Secretariat’s mandate is delivered through the annual Leaders’ Communiqués and high level ministerial meeting decisions.

In September 2014, the Delegation of the European Union in the Pacific and the Pacific Islands Forum Secretariat signed a contribution agreement to realize the “Programme for Strengthening Non-state Actors (NSAs) Engagement in Regional Policy Development and Implementation”.